World Champion at the Third Attempt

Sherwood, Russell  Monday, May 28, 2018

World Champion at the Third Attempt

Grigory Sanakoev



256 Pages


Following on from the review of Mike Read’s 120 Games, we have a much older book but one covering the games of a former ICCF World Champion.

The book covers Sankoev’s CC career from the very start until winning the World Championship (at the third attempt).

Although the book comes from the pre-engine era is a rich source of valuable ideas for the aspiring CC player as Sanakoev presents a number of CC “rules” which he refines after each cycle of play.

A few minor negatives – as a translation the language can be a little obtuse and as the content covers the 1960 – 1980’s a few of the ideas are past their sell by date but as a positive, even in those cases, there is still a great idea which can be modified for modern play.

Want a glimpse into the processes of an ICCF World Champion, then this is the book for you. Better still, it currently is selling for only £5 in a number of outlets!



Value for Money: 10

Readability: 7

Originality: 9

Content: 38


Durability: 7

Would I buy this (again) 10


Total 91%

Updated Monday, May 28, 2018 by Russell Sherwood

Welsh Correspondence Chess FederationBritish Correspondence Chess AssociationClergy Correspondence Chess ClubSchemingMind Internet Correspondence Chess ClubSocial Correspondence Chess AssociationNational Correspondence Chess ClubWelsh Chess UnionInternational Correspondence Chess Association