Welsh Correspondence Chess Federation

Rydym yn Ffrindiau - Amici Sumus

The Welsh Correspondence Chess Championship

Austin Lockwood  Monday, May 8, 2017

The Welsh Correspondence Chess Championship will be restarted in 2017 after a break of eighteen years.

Entry to the 2017 Championship is open to all Welsh chess players; there will be no entry fee for this season only.

The tournament will be played online using the ICCF webserver https://www.iccf.com

All players must be registered under the Welsh flag.  Player who are not yet registered with ICCF may do so by following the “New Player” link under the sign in box.

There will be a championship section of between seven and eleven players and one or more qualification section.  The winner of the championship section will receive the title of “2017 Welsh Correspondence Chess Champion” and an engraved trophy; the following cash prizes will also be available:

  • Winner: £30
  • Runner up: £15
  • Third place: £5

The WCCC is a qualifying event for the British Correspondence Chess Championship.

The time control will be ten moves in 40 days, with duplication after 20 days and 45 days leave.

All applicable ICCF rules will apply, for the full rules, please see

The tournament director will be Marc Wakeham.

For a list of previous winners, please see http://welshccf.org.uk/content/87

To enter the Welsh Correspondence Chess Championship, please contact the WCCF secretary, Austin Lockwood by email: secretary@welshccf.org.uk

The closing date for entries is 1st June 2017, the tournament will start shortly after this date.

Entries to date

ID Title Name Grade
810161 CCM Russell Sherwood 2337
810209 CCM Gareth Yeo 2324
810233   Paul Scott 2162
810219   Colin Denham 2152
810228   Marybeth Baron 2126
219118   Andy Robertshaw 2064
810237   Nasir Rizvi 2044 (FIDE)
810243   Craig Evans 1997 (FIDE)
810247   Paul Hatchett 1989 (FIDE)
810192   Margaret Baron 1854
810222   Andrew Smith 1849
801220   Jonathan Davies 1786
810102   David Guy 1660
810188   Bill Flew 1625
801248   Robert Hurn 1607 (FIDE)
810235   Stephen Ford 1576
810217   Michael Richards 1459
810176   Malcolm Chugg 1372
810216   Eleanor Collins 1282 (WCU)
810249   Bence Szakmány 1152 (WCU)
810232   Philip McMahon  

Please download the flier below and distribute widely!


Updated Wednesday, May 24, 2017 by Austin Lockwood

No Comments

Stop! You’re doing it wrong!

Russell Sherwood  Monday, May 22, 2017

CC First Aid for the Under 2100’s

Covering all the (Data) bases!

Russell Sherwood  Saturday, May 20, 2017

New Article


Chugging Along!

Russell Sherwood  Friday, May 19, 2017

Well Done to Phillip Dean in picking up his first CCE Norm and helping maintain Wales strong placing in this event!


Keeping up the Pressure

Russell Sherwood  Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Congratulations to John Claridge in picking up a CCE Norm and cementing the Welsh Team's great peformance in this event!


New Norms

Russell Sherwood  Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Congratulations to Austin Lockwood, in picking up Norms for both the CCE and CCM Title in a single move!


Standing on the Shoulders of Giants

Russell Sherwood  Tuesday, May 16, 2017


Peidiwch â gadael i'r Bastardiaid malu chi i lawr!

Russell Sherwood  Tuesday, May 16, 2017

New Article


Time of the Day!

Russell Sherwood  Saturday, May 13, 2017

New Article

11th European Team Championships Semi-Final

Russell Sherwood  Saturday, May 13, 2017

Wales were handed an interesting draw this week in the 11th European Team Championships Semi-Finals.


With the unusual qualification rules for the finals of 1st,2nd,3rd plus the Best 4th placed team over the 3 Semi-Finals, joining the 1st,2nd and 3rd from the Finals of the 10th European Team Championships this could rightly be considered a “Group of Death”, with 8 teams being within a 100 rating points.

The Welsh Team of Tony Balshaw, Austin Lockwood, Helen Sherwood, John Claridge, Russell Sherwood, Ian Jones, Gareth Yeo and Mark Adams is the strongest Team Welsh CC has ever fielded!

Updates will be posted on the website in due course!